Getting older, getting wiser?

open-till-late_l

Really?

Are you sure about that? I’m not.

I don’t feel wiser. I do, mostly, feel like I’m smarter, but that’s a whole different thing. If I were wiser, I’d actually do all the things (or at least some of the things) I’ve learned over the past many years, those things that make me smarter. I wouldn’t just accumulate facts and information; I’d actually use them.

But that’s not who I am; that’s who I think I should be. The better me. The good me.

I can’t be the only person who is struggling with this, can’t be the only person who knows what she should be doing, is smart enough to know that she might feel better if she did those things, but still doesn’t. I’m guessing that most of us feel this way, at least part of the time.

How do you solve this dilemma?

It should be easy, mostly because I love information although I don’t think you can call me an info-junkie (which tends to imply, according to my Google search, an obsession with computer technology and upgrades – so not me).

My problem is that although I love information, I tend to mostly be fascinated by the esoteric, stuff that has nothing to do with my daily life.

Of course I know I shouldn’t eat too much salt or fat, should wash the makeup off my face every night, should get plenty of exercise and pay my bills on time. I shouldn’t listen to loud music, shouldn’t drink more than 3 or 4 glasses of wine a week (though since they keep changing the amount that’s good for you, I plead ignorance). I should have my eyes and my brakes checked regularly and shouldn’t forget to recycle.

But my mind is always full of other things—interesting, weird and fascinating things—that take up all the extra room in my brain.

What have I been fascinated by this week? Here’s the short list:

  • George Mallory and his attempt to climb Everest
  • Someone impersonating a plastic surgeon who used cement, mineral oil and flat-tire sealant to give a woman a curvier body
  • Small rituals different people use to keep them going – such as using a specific pen and paper or insisting on having your head facing east/west or putting your right sock on first
  • Houses in Hawaii – yeah, yeah, I know, this isn’t so esoteric but it is for me. I’ve lived in Vancouver most of my life and everyone I know has been to Hawaii except me
  • The exact right texture of a pear and why I can eat the stalks of broccoli raw but not the heads
  • How words disappear and appear in our vocabulary
  • Lord Peter Wimsey

None of these things are all that useful, but they’ve occupied a fair amount of my time this week. Do they make me a wiser person? Maybe.

Photo credit: [ changó ] / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-ND

This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

