Day 11 – Josee Renard

***The Winner is Tessa!!***

12daysofchristmasv1

 I’m in Toronto this week, and it’s definitely beginning to look a lot like Christmas. It’s cold and gray and everyone’s shopping.

Now I’m a Christmas shopper who loves the hustle and bustle of the week – or even the day – before  Christmas, so this (I’m writing this on December 10} feels more than a bit early to me. But the Christmas carols playing in the stores? The ones that almost everybody complains about?

I’m an addict. There’s a radio station in Vancouver that begins playing all Christmas songs all the time from the beginning of November right through until New Year’s Day and I’ll be glued to that station. I love the songs in the malls and the stores, the bells from the Salvation Army collectors, the blare of Christmas music from people’s car stereos.

So it’s not that easy for me to pick a favorite song. I pretty much like – and know – them all.

But I can pick an album – and I say album because I’ve owned Elvis’s album Blue Christmas in every format since LPs. I converted to eight track, then to cassette tape, and now to CD. And yes, I have it downloaded to my computer and to my MP3 player as well.

The song I’ve caught myself singing this week has been Blue Christmas, perhaps because being in Toronto reminds me of the many years I’ve spent Christmas away from home. When I lived in Toronto for ten years, my family was in Vancouver and although I made it home for the occasional Christmas, it was just that – occasional. And then when I moved back to Vancouver, my mother lived in the north and my sister lived in Edmonton, and so in some ways I was still away from home.

So those words, in Elvis’s most beautiful voice –

                I’ll have a blue Christmas without you
I’ll be so blue just thinking about you

have a whole lot of resonance for me.

But what I wish for you is something other than a blue Christmas. I wish for you a Christmas spent with your loved ones, because that’s what Christmas is all about.

The shopping – even to me – is secondary.

SantaBringMyBabyBackToMe_300X454

Josee will be giving away one copy of Santa Bring my Baby Back to Me to one commenter.

This entry was posted in giveaways. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 11 – Josee Renard

  1. Tessa says:

    I love everything around Christmas. The songs, the shops chowded with people, shopping, everything…
    tessa.bamberg@kolumbus.fi

  2. bn100 says:

    Nice cover. I like Christmas songs.

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

