Interview with Kaye Spencer

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself. How does your day go? What keeps you writing?

I have books published under two names: Kaye Spencer and A.L. Debran. I live in southeastern Colorado where there are no mountains in sight, just prairie dogs, dust, and buffalo grass as far as the eye can see. I’m a native Coloradoan from the northeastern area, and I love the prairie. I tend to write about cowboys and the Old West, which I attribute to my love of Louis L’Amour westerns, Marty Robbins’ gunfighter ballads, and that I grew up on a ranch with all things cowboy. Not all of my stories are westerns, however, but all of them are historically correct regardless of the time/setting. Since I consider myself to be a lover of words, a crafter of stories, and a hopelessly hopeful romantic, all genres are within my sphere of storytelling.

My writing day depends on the time of year. Mid-August through mid-May, I’m a school teacher by day and writer by nights and weekends, so my summers are wide open for writing. However, I’ve discovered that even though I have a ‘day job’ for nine months of the year, I’m a more prolific writer when I’m pressed for time; I’m more focused when I have a busier schedule. I actually get more writing done during the school year than in the summer. My deep writing mode generally kicks in during the 9 p.m. to 4 a.m. hours, which makes going to work a killer sometimes. Thankfully, my school has a four-day week. It helps that I am a cyclical insomniac, so I take advantage of the nights I can’t sleep and use those hours to write.

Why keeps me writing? I write because it’s impossible not to write. Characters hound me with their constant demands to have their stories told. When I’m not writing, I’m thinking about writing.

2. What brought you to writing erotica? What do you love about it?

My first three published books are not erotica, but they are very hot. I didn’t take the erotic plunge until I wrote a story for a specific erotic line at Cobblestone Press: “In the Cards, The Vampire Oracle”. My story is “Life”.

What I love about writing erotica is the challenge to ‘show, not tell’. I have to confess that writing sensual love scenes comes easier for me, so pushing myself out of my comfort zone has expanded my storytelling skills.

3. What are you working on now?

I keep multiple projects going at one time. Since I write in snippets and scenes as they come to me and weave them into a cohesive plot as I go, I have no trouble bouncing from story to story. The story that has my immediate attention is a romance set in 1957 Kentucky that involves an FBI revenuer agent (hero) who wants to bust a moonshine making and transporting operation (heroine’s family). The working title is “Mayhem & Moonshine”. The ‘mayhem’ is a play on the heroine’s name, Mae-Ellen.

My other WIP, A Mob Affair, begins just hours before the St. Valentine’s Day Massacre on February 14, 1929. This story also involves a Bureau of Investigation agent who goes undercover to rescue the heroine who is married to a Chicago crime boss. She wants to turn state’s evidence on her husband in exchange for government protection.

4. What is your—or your character’s—favorite erotic book? Sexy movie? Sex toy?

My favorite erotic book may not be considered erotic by current definitions—Bram Stoker’s, Dracula. When it was published in 1897, it bordered on eroticism. The sexual understatement in it stimulates the reader’s imagination without needing to be graphic.

In keeping with sexual understatement, The Phantom of the Opera with Gerard Butler, is my favorite sexy movie. When the phantom leads Christine down to his lair the first time…well, that’s scary, titillating, enticing, and stalker-creepy all wrapped up in a deliciously sexy package.

Favorite sex toy? There are just so many to choose from……so I won’t. I’ll refer you to my quick, erotic read, “Get Branded”. The sex toys in this story involve a private photo shoot for the heroine with the hero/cover model and a naughty interlude involving a video camera.

5. What’s the one thing you’ve always wanted to do? The top thing on your personal bucket list?

I want to tour the British Isles, particularly Scotland, and the Orkney Islands. While I’m there, I will visit the Stevenson lighthouses. As a backup plan in case this trip doesn’t actually happen, my personal goal is to live long enough to return to the Alamo in San Antonio, Texas during the 200th anniversary commemoration of the siege. My window of opportunity will be February 23 through March 6, 2036. I won’t be quite as old as the Crypt Keeper, but close.

6. What’s your personal romantic (or erotic) fantasy?

I imagine a romantic evening (whatever that entails—I won’t put limitations on it here) with Sean Bean and/or Gerard Butler.

Thank you, Josee, for inviting me to your blog today. The interview questions were great fun to write about.

Until next time,

Kaye Spencer
Fall in love…faster, harder, deeper with Kaye Spencer romances

Links:

Website & Blog: http://www.kayespencer.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000877686603&ref=tn_tnmn
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/kayespencer
LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/kaye-spencer/30/30a/a57
Kaye Spencer’s Amazon Author Central Page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B004C6QR64
A.L. Debran’s Amazon Author Central Page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B004C6SKB4
Kaye Spencer’s Book Trailers/YouTube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/kayespencer

This entry was posted in Interview and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interview with Kaye Spencer

  1. Pingback: Interview & sex toys ????? « Kaye Spencer – romance author

Leave a Reply

