Interview with Krystal Shannan

1.         Tell us a little bit about yourself. How does your day go? What keeps you writing?
I am an Texas elementary music teacher during the school year and a stay-at-home mom the rest of the year. My job is great, but I look forward to the day when I can quit and be a stay-at-home-mom/writer! It’s a ways away, but a girl can dream.
I’ve been writing and telling stories since I was in elementary school myself. A friend and I used to have this newsletter that we would write every week with columns for stories we were writing, reports on books we had read. I should have known that I was going to be a writer then, but I didn’t. I just found it something fun to do for myself. I continued to write for myself through college. The thought of being published certainly crossed my mind, but I was busy. Got married. Had a daughter… Life swallowed up my time.
After my daughter was born, characters came back with a vengeance and told me to start writing again or else! So here I am. They pretty much hijacked my brain. Even my hubby says I talk plot lines in my sleep!
My average day during the school year is work until about 4pm. I usually get up around 5am and write and answer blogs and emails for an hour before we leave the house. When I get home I play with my two-year-old daughter, fix dinner, say hi to my fabulous husband, put daughter to bed around 8pm, maybe watch a TV show with hubby for a few minutes before disappearing to my king-sized bed with my laptop to write. I try to fit in about two hours every night before sleep steals me away. During the summer I have a good routine with my daughter and I usually get two hours of writing in before she even wakes up. Then my day consists of entertaining her until naptime (I love that she still takes naps – 3 hour naps!) And you guessed it, more writing, a little bit of twitter, FB, and emails.  But I tend to do most of my FB, Twitter, and emails while I’m watching TV with hubby. Gotta multi-task!!! *Giggle*
To answer your last question above, my characters keep me writing and the goal of quitting my day job is real to me now. Plus my husband keeps telling me I’m going to be famous like ‘Castle’ – It’s his favorite TV show. But really, he is super-supportive and that helps a lot.
 
2.         What brought you to writing erotica? What do you love about it?
I had always read those great old regency romances growing up. Then I got hooked on this fabulous author Cherise Sinclair and from there I branched out into reading all sorts of romance genres. I think the old adage ‘you are what you eat’ fits here, cause ‘I write what I read’. Although I haven’t written any BDSM yet…. I do prefer quite a bit of Dom-like qualities in my heroes. I’m not sure I would really classify my writing as erotica, but it is erotic for sure, bordering on ‘you better have a fan to cool off after a love scene’. I like hot sex in my books whether I reading or writing. I like sinking into the scene and connecting with the characters. Sex is intimacy and passion at its finest and should always mean something to the characters and help the plot progress. If it doesn’t mean anything to them or their story, then I don’t write it. There is no sex just for sex in my stories.
3.         What are you working on now?
Gosh. I have two main ideas flowing right now. One involves the Greek Pantheon with Aphrodite as a matchmaker for soul mates. I’ve written the introduction to that series already. A novella entitled OPEN HOUSE.  Ruby Lioness Press will release it later this fall and I am super excited. I’m working on the sequel for it now.
My other main WIP is a twist on the legend of Merlin and Morgana. It’s mixed with an entire world of paranormal Fey, shifters, vampires, and demons, oh my! My Heroine, Eshe Knight, holds the fate of the world in her hands. The introduction to this series will be a long novella about 35K and then her sequels will be longer full-lengths novels.
4.         What is your—or your character’s—favorite erotic book? Sexy movie? Sex toy?
Favorite erotic book? There are too many to choose from. I have to say my favorite authors right now are Cherise Sinclair (I will read anything she writes), Gena Showalter, and new indie author Carrie Ann Ryan (who has a new series starting that I’m dying to read). My favorite erotica books though have to be R.G. Alexander’s WICKED SEXY and WICKED BAD. Short. Hot. Fabulous.
5.         What’s the one thing you’ve always wanted to do? The top thing on your personal bucket list?
Top of the list is a tour of Italy and Greece. Hands down. I’m saving for a cruise. I want to see the Coliseum, the Parthenon, anything having to do with ancient Greeks and Romans and I’m there.
6.         What’s your personal romantic (or erotic) fantasy?
 Hmmmmm….. what to share, LOL. I’m going to go out on a limb and say I’m a huge fan of blindfolds, ropes, and I think I’ll let you imagine the rest. *snickering*
Thank you so much for the opportunity to be featured on your blog. You were actually my first and we all know we never forget our first! I know, I know, my mind is in the gutter, but I just can’t help but go there! It’s too tempting. LOL
Here’s a small excerpt from OPEN HOUSE, please enjoy, but be sure you have a fan!
“I… you–” Rebecca found herself unable to form a coherent thought.  She gripped the edge of the countertop as his face dropped between her legs.  His gorgeous mouth was on her bare sex and she bucked her hips as he nibbled on her clit.  Strong arms wrapped around her hips and held her still as he flicked his tongue back and forth before thrusting it deep inside her.
“Oh, god,” Rebecca moaned and rocked her hips.  “Please.”  She heard herself begging, but she didn’t even care.  Her entire body was trembling and every time she came close to peaking, he would slow down or back off.  “Please.”  She begged again and heard him chuckle.  Damn man was laughing at her.  Her body needed to come so badly it hurt.
His mouth clamped down hard on her clit.  Her raspy scream echoed through the empty house as the sting of the orgasm exploded from within.   She bucked against his mouth, but he didn’t let up.  Her body spasmed and shook against his iron hold.  Rebecca growled through another scream as a second wave of ecstasy surged.  He finally released her clit from his mouth and her hips sagged into his arms.   Her entire body seemed to pulse.  It was as if her heart were trying to leap from her chest.
Robert moved slowly to her head, leaned down, and whispered into her ear.  “A good start, don’t you think?”  He brushed his mouth across hers and she could taste her musky flavor on his lips.  She thought it would be a turnoff, but instead it only refueled her desire.  Rebecca saw his hunger for her burning in those chocolate eyes.  She gasped in pleasure as he ran his hand along her taunt stomach and between the bare lips of her sex.
“So smooth and wet.”  He smiled.  How could his smile affect her so strongly?  She knew she would do anything he asked, just to please him.  Rebecca trembled as his finger traced around her swollen clit.  “I’ll be right back.”  He removed his fingers from her pussy and gave her stomach a friendly pat.
Rebecca raised herself up on her elbows and tried to look through the opening to the dining room, but he was out of sight.  She could hear bags rustling and smiled when he returned with the comforter set they had picked out for the master bedroom.
“I think this will do quite nicely.”  His huge adorable grin made her giggle.  She nodded and sat up on the edge of the counter.  He gazed at her, his eyes swept from the tips of her toes up to her eyes.
Rebecca gasped when he grabbed her suddenly and gently threw her over his shoulder.  His arm wrapped around her bare thighs, while his hand rest very casually on one cheek.
“Robert!”
“Yes, Rebecca?”  He continued walking through the kitchen and then into the living room.  She shook her hair from her face and saw the comforter bag swinging from his other hand.
“How is it that I am completely naked, while you haven’t shed even one stitch of clothing?”
“Because you were dinner, Rebecca.”
 A snort escaped mixed into her laughter.  “Remind me to have dinner with you more often.  I have been missing out.”
“You?  What about me?”  He chuckled and eased her to her feet to the floor in the master bedroom.  “I’m kicking myself for not having the guts to ask you out ten years ago.”
Please visit me on Facebook@ http://www.facebook.com/krystal.shannan
This entry was posted in Excerpt and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Interview with Krystal Shannan

  1. Susan W. says:

    Congratulations on your release coming out soon! That excerpt was hot and I can’t wait to read the rest of the story!
    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

  2. April London says:

    Woo woo! Go Krystal!

  3. caseamajor says:

    Blindfolds and ropes, huh? LOL Fun stuff. Great interview from a fellow Texan! Always glad to know there’s more of us out there.

  4. Great interview, Krystal! Pretty mommy with a kinky side? Love it 😉
    Oh, and where else would one’s mind be…but the gutter?

  5. Very nice interview! Congrats on your coming release, Krystal! Wishing you tons of success! 🙂

  6. Fantastic interview Krystal! Congrats on your release!! That excerpt was hawt!!! 😀 teehee You go girl!

  7. D'Ann Lindun says:

    Great interview! Steamy scene, too.

  8. Sheri Fredricks says:

    It’s GREAT to learn more about you, Krystal. I hope your dream of leaving your current day job for a writing career comes true. Best wishes and congratulations!

  9. Brenda says:

    Wonderful interview. Was great getting to know you better.

  10. Krytal, what a great interview. Loved your excerpt.

  11. All of you are fabulous! The writing community is so supportive and that really makes me so excited to call myself a part of it. I have made so many friends already and I look forward to getting to know all of you even better as time goes on. Thank you Josee for having me on your blog. It was great.

  12. Karen Wilson says:

    Way to go Krystal. Great interview and excerpt. Hope you get to stay home soon and write and write and write. LOL. Best of luck

  13. Jenna Jaxon says:

    Hot excerpt! And a great interview. So nice to get to know you. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

