Has this ever happened to you?

Have you picked up a newspaper or a magazine or a piece of advertising material on a table somewhere and wham! you’re telling yourself a complete story in your head.

It might be about a picture you saw – oh, yeah, you say to yourself, that woman is a spy / cop / alien / model / mother of five-year-old quintuplets? Or that guy’s gotta be a sports reporter / hockey player / jockey.

Or what if it’s about a story? One of those one paragraph shorts that magazines and newspapers use to fill the corners of pages? And you get just enough information to be interested and not enough to satisfy you.

It happens to me all the time – in fact, it’s one of the ways I start stories. I might see a phrase or a person or overhear a conversation or a photograph, and I’m off and running. If you’ve been following my blog, you know I’ve been writing a whole lot of stories that started off with song titles – I got into the hang of that, and for a while, it’s all I could do.

I think it’s the way our minds work – we love to make connections, can’t help it, really – so we see or hear or read something, and we follow the thread along to the end. Because in addition to making connections, we also (at least I do) want to know what happens at the end.

What gets you thinking?

Josee

This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Has this ever happened to you?

  1. Jar O' Marbles says:

    I do that all the time but never remember to write it down lol.

Leave a Reply

