Interview with Lissa Matthews

1.         Tell us a little bit about yourself. How does your day go? What keeps you writing?
This is the hardest part of interviews. Talking about myself. I’ll talk about writing, my kids, NASCAR, football, cooking all day long, but ask me about myself and I have no idea what to say. I’m a mom, a race fan, a football fan, a foodie, a coffee addict, a cat owner, a music lover, a daughter, a sister, a granddaughter, a friend, a wife. A typical day for me is…not typical. I don’t think I have one. We get up at different times in my house. With my kids being home schooled, we don’t have to get up at the crack of dawn for school buses. We sleep in some days. We have a late breakfast sometimes, sometimes not. We relax into our days… a movie or a game or two on Wii. My son reads the sports pages online, I catch up on blogs. My daughter is almost 18 and she spends her mornings doing school work and her afternoons out with friends or making truffles and selling them to raise money for events she and her friends want to take part in. My kids and I, we talk, a lot. My son does school work in the afternoons, plays with friends when he’s done or plays baseball. We take field trips around town and learn about things together. We’re very relaxed, very close. I try to write/work in the mornings or early afternoons. Sometimes I get up and go to the coffee shop to write and get it done before anyone wakes up. I write Monday-Friday (unless there are edits/revisions). It takes about 3-4 hours to get in the word count I try to adhere too. I do busy work on Saturday and Sunday mornings, like writing blogs, emailing editors, getting together with my brainstorm partner, or my assistant. What keeps me writing? The fact that I can’t stop.
2.         What brought you to writing erotica? What do you love about it?
Honestly, I started writing erotic stories when I was at a very young age, when sex was still a bad word, and kids my age weren’t supposed to talk about it or hell, even know about it. I wrote erotic and romantic fantasies all through high school. I put it away when some good hearted people told it was not a very good way to spend my time, but I missed it. I missed writing. I tried writing other things, but nothing fueled my creative mind than romance and erotica. Up to that point, I hadn’t read a romance novel, but I was in desperate need of something. My husband worked nights and I worked days and we had a toddler and no money. I made my way to the library once a week, checked out as many romance books as they’d let me at one time (which was usually something like 20 and I’d return them a week later, having read them all, most into the late hours of the night when I should have been sleeping. I read everything I could get my hands on. And one day, sitting on my couch, I said, “I’m going to do this.” I started writing my first novel, a historical. It’s currently at 50000 words and about halfway done. Erotic romance is something that… It’s a level of intimacy that I’m not sure most people ever achieve. If they did, would divorce rates be as high? I don’t know. It’s a connection that is deep and strong, so much more than sex, but sex is a way to make the bridge between two souls, two hearts. If you can share your deepest, darkest thoughts with someone and it comes out through sex…you’ve created a bond that is stronger than mere words.
3.         What are you working on now?
I am working on several things this month. The follow-up race car book to Stick Shift, titled Drive Shaft. A m/m/m contemporary cowboy set in Montana titled Broken Rules. A revised version of a contemporary romance titled Melting Jane. And a m/m urban contemporary romance (simply set in a city setting) titled Coffee in the Corner.
4.         What is your—or your character’s—favorite erotic book? Sexy movie? Sex toy?
I don’t have a favorite erotic book, but I have a favorite erotic scene… It’s from Linda Howard’s book After the Night. There’s a porch scene in the middle of the book that’s hotter than Hell. Raw passion, raw eroticism… It’s one of the things that’s inspired me. Sexy movie? I don’t think I have one. That’s probably sad, huh? LOL… Sex toy? Hitachi wand! OMG…
5.         What’s the one thing you’ve always wanted to do? The top thing on your personal bucket list?
Visit Britain and tour the country, rent a cottage in a small village, and write…
6.         What’s your personal romantic (or erotic) fantasy?
Is it too late to be a lost princess? laughs… I honestly don’t know. And that’s a true statement. I don’t. I am the romantic in my family and it oftentimes goes unappreciated and unnoticed unless I point it out. So, I’m not sure I have a personal romantic fantasy anymore. Now, a personal erotic fantasy… Oh my. We’re getting into dangerous territory here. There would be two men…one who wears suits to work, one who wears jeans. One extremely good with his mind, one very good with his hands. One soft spoken, one rowdy. And where am I in all this? Right smack dab in the middle, on my knees, their very, very willing submissive lover 😉
This entry was posted in Guest Post and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interview with Lissa Matthews

  1. Lissa,
    Sometimes well meaning individuals hamper our creativity and kill our dreams. I’m glad you didn’t let that happen. I’m a big fan and can’t wait to read more of your work!

Leave a Reply

