Inspiration

Sometimes, the thing that inspires me is visual – this is a painting by one of the Group of Seven, Frank Johnston. The title – Great Bear Lake, La Pine Bay – is a bit prosaic, but there’s something about this scene that enchants me.

I’ve been in those hills, to this lake – and one of these days I’m going to write about this cabin. It’s the run-up to winter, and you can feel the chill starting so I’ll have to get out and make sure that my woodpile is large enough to make it through the long frigid winter.

I think what I’m going to write about is what has to be done, what can be done, in this isolated place, in this tiny cabin, over those four or five long months of winter.  No electricity, no company, no computer. What an experience!

I can hardly wait.

Josee

This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

