Inspiration

I met Rosemary Phillips quite a few years ago at a writing workshop. She inspires me. Whenever I feel as if things aren’t working out in my writing life, I think of Rosemary.

She decided to become a writer when her husband of almost 60 years died. Writing became her passion and she wrote and wrote and wrote and she submitted and submitted and submitted. Finally, after years of rejections, she decided she didn’t have time to wait for a publisher to figure out that she was a good writer and that people would want to read her books, so she decided she’d become her own publisher.

Nine or ten books later, she’s got those books into libraries, she’s asked to do readings, and every single October she has a book launch party to celebrate however many books she’s written and published that year.

I want to be Rosemary when I grow up.

Josee

This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

