Interview with Jessica Aspen

Thanks for having me as your guest today Josee. I had a great time answering these questions and I’ll be responding to comments. Leave a comment today on Josee Reynard, and tell me about it HERE , to enter to win prizes in celebration of the upcoming release of Little Red Riding Wolf.

 1. Tell us a little bit about yourself. How does your day go? What keeps you writing?

I’ve lived in colorful Colorado near the foothills of the Rocky Mountains nearly all my life and love it. Gorgeous weather and wonderful inspiration are just some of the benefits of the Boulder area, although I would love to live in the actual mountains. It’s good to have dreams. How does my day go? Hmm, I’m usually up at six am answering email, my blog and sending out tweets. By 7:30 or so I’m out walking with my energetic Lab, Molly, and we usually go between two to four miles, depending on the weather. I don’t mind the snow so much, but in the middle of July I just don’t want to go that last mile. And then it’s nose to the grindstone and write, write, write.

2. What keeps you writing?

I didn’t realize it until about a year ago, but I’m writing all the time, just without paper. Oh, I knew I had stories going on in my head, but I thought everyone did. Then I was reading someone’s blog and they said that was the sign of a writer. Wow! Not everyone thinks this way? So even if I weren’t getting them down on paper, I’d be writing stories. I just work hard now at making sure they’re ready for other people to read. So what keeps me writing? Just my imagination.

3. What brought you to writing erotica? What do you love about it?

I’d call what I write erotic romance, rather than erotica, and I slid into it through a contest. I’d taken a class on sensual writing. When I saw that some of the publishers have contests, I decided to get serious about it. Little Red Riding Wolf was the result. That particular publisher nearly published it, but finally decided it was too modern a tale. Luckily Passion in Print likes the modern twist and it’s due out the middle of February.

As for what do I love about it the erotic? I guess it’s that it expresses the full breadth of a relationship. Shutting the bedroom door you miss out on a piece of the story where your characters bond tightly, or discover they really are deeply in love and it’s still not going to work. When you add sex the tension increases and the interest is high. And of course it’s fun!

4. What are you working on now?

I’m currently working on the sequel to Little Red Riding Wolf, another twisted fairy tale. This time I’m writing about Red’s brother, Seth, who is the erstwhile villain in Little Red. It’s a challenge to take your anti-hero and change him into the hero, but I’m enjoying taking this hot alpha male from angry werewolf to sensual lover.

5.  What is your—or your character’s—favorite erotic book?

As for my character, Red is fairly naïve. I’m not sure she’d risk having a naughty book around the house, but I’ll share. I love Laurel K. Hamilton’s Merry Gentry series. A Kiss of Shadows came out in 2000. It’s a little twisted, but the imagery and sensuality are amazing. I’m a big fan! If you like the Anita Blake series, look out, this one is very different.

6. What’s the one thing you’ve always wanted to do? The top thing on your personal bucket list?

I can’t wait until I’m able to work wherever I want to. I would love to be able to live near the southern oceans during the winter and move to the mountains during the summer. Writing is my dream and being able to have a job that I can take anywhere is a huge fantasy for me. Oh, and travel to Scotland. Someday!

7. What’s your personal romantic fantasy?

I have to pick just one? Being a romance author I get to play out all my fantasies in my writing, even if it doesn’t make it into a book! What’s really romantic for me is an alpha male who can take charge of a strong woman, without crushing her strength. How does that play out in a fantasy? Well, you can take it and put it anywhere you like. Outside in the fresh grass, under the moonlight. Inside on a cold snowy night in front of the fire. I’m good as long as there’s some dominant foreplay and a satisfying conclusion.

Thanks for having me as your guest. Don’t forget to visit http://paranormalfreebies.com/news and register for my contest after you leave a comment for me today. I have lots of fun prizes including Colorado chocolate.

Bio:

Jessica Aspen writes paranormal romance near the foothills of the Colorado Rockies. Her books are full of elves, were-wolves and sexy men who walk on the dark side of the knife. She loves dark chocolate, walking the dog, hiking and is obsessed with her new lap-top. Jessica is also obsessed with writing and learning about writing. She is a member of RWA, CRW, FF&P and PRO. You can find Jessica the first Friday of the month at http://ParanormalFreebies.com and most days during the week at http://jessicaaspen.com

Follow Jessica on twitter @jessicaaspen and on Facebook.com/Jessica.Aspen and don’t forget to enter her contest HERE to win novellas, chocolate and more!

Come into the woods with Little Red Riding Wolf, Jessica Aspen’s spicy paranormal novella due for release February 18th from Passion in Print Press. What if Little Red Riding Hood was a werewolf and a sexy forest ranger wandered into her woods?

 

Fraternizing with humans is taboo, but when feisty werewolf Red runs into hunky new forest ranger Evan Brewster, she jumps on the opportunity to let loose her desires. Evan is stoked when he meets the petite red haired hottie, and combined with his new discovery of wolves in Colorado, thinks his career and life are made. Then Red pushes him away, her hostile brother threatens his life, and things begin to spiral out of control. Caught between her sexy lover and her pack can Red trust Evan with her secrets, or must she sacrifice her human lover and her heart?

Jessica Aspen writes paranormal romance near the foothills of the Colorado Rockies. Her books are full of elves, were-wolves and sexy men who walk on the dark side of the knife. She loves dark chocolate, walking the dog, hiking and is obsessed with her new lap-top. Jessica is also obsessed with writing and learning about writing. She is a member of RWA, CRW, FF&P and PRO. You can find Jessica the first Friday of the month at http://ParanormalFreebies.com and most days during the week at http://jessicaaspen.com

Follow Jessica on twitter @jessicaaspen and on Facebook.com/Jessica.Aspen

 

This entry was posted in Interview and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Interview with Jessica Aspen

  1. Pingback: Killer Blog Tour Continues | JessicaAspenWrites

  2. Sherry Isaac says:

    Hey Jessica,

    Um, Scotland. I was saying to Carole, Sharon and Gloria when we were in Atlanta that a Scottish Castle would make a fine summer writing retreat. What say you?

  3. Romance Reader Enthusiast says:

    A series on “Little Red Riding Hood”? That sounds different and would love a chance to read. I love paranormal. It stretches the boundaries of our imagination. Thank you.

    lareynolds0316@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

