#DD – Happy December 25th!

It’s December 25 – and I want to wish you all the merriest of holidays. Christmas, I expect for all of us, has changed over the years. We keep a little bit of the traditions we grew up with, add in some we’ve shared with friends and new family and partners, and come up with something completely new and incredibly personal.
I grew up in in a big extended family. We celebrated a very English Christmas with my mom’s family; a very prairie Christmas with my dad’s. Each year we’d travel from one side of the city to another to celebrate with both – and I got used to shifting gears from a relaxed and warm party at one set of grandparents’ to something more formal at the other. I have to admit that my personal Christmas traditions tend to be of the very relaxed kind.
Unlike some families who continued to celebrate the holidays together, my family were pretty darn mobile – my sister moved to Alberta and started a family with her lovely John; my mom moved to cowboy country and lived there for the last years of her life; I moved to Toronto and my brother and dad stayed behind.
So I created a new family wherever I happened to be. I kept some of the traditions – like my dad’s stuffing (all the men on my dad’s side of the family knew how to cook) and my own favorites. I love all the accoutrements to turkey, not so much the turkey, so I cooked for a big turkey for my friends, and mashed potatoes and carrots and parsnips and brussel sprouts and gravy and lots and lots and lots of stuffing for me. And then, of course, there was pumpkin pie. And many years I’d spend Boxing Day by myself, celebrating with pumpkin pie for breakfast, doing the hundreds of dishes before lunch, and then eating leftovers with a glass of red wine and one of the books I’d received as a gift for the afternoon.
Some years I’d leave where I was – whether it was Vancouver or the Okanagan or Toronto – and travel across the country for a traditional Christmas with my family, but those years were few and far between. For me, now, Christmas is different every year. Last year we had a bunch of friends over for dinner. This year we’re leaving Christmas morning to drive to Seattle for a few days. We’ll have dinner with friends on Boxing Day and we’ll spend Christmas Day in a splashy hotel.
I guess I’d have to say that my new Christmas traditions are fluid. Changeable. Flexible. Sometimes a little bit crazy.
And you know what? I love it that way.
Be sure to leave a comment to be entered to win a copy of my latest, Santa Bring My Baby Back to Me and to be entered into the grand giveaway that will be announced tomorrow morning!
This entry was posted in #DD and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #DD – Happy December 25th!

  1. Merry Christmas to you and your loved ones…

  2. Regina Ross says:

    Merry Christmas =)

    reginamayross@gmail.com

  3. Shelly says:

    I’ve really enjoyed reading about everyone’ s traditions and recipes. Hope you have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

