#DD – My favorite Christmas Eve meal!

It’s Christmas Eve  and if you’re like me, you’ve got plenty of last minute things to do, so I want to share with you a little Christmas Eve treat. No matter how much we love turkey and all the things that go along with it, we still need to make something for Christmas Eve and I always want something a little bit different and a whole lot simple. So I often make bouillabaise – it’s easy, it’s delicious and making it takes only a single pot, a sharp knife, and a spoon.
Here’s my favorite Christmas Eve meal. It’s perfect with white wine, with red wine, or with champagne. If I were you? I’d go with the champagne.

Kate’s Bouillabaise

Start with:

1/4  c               Cooking oil (I use half olive oil)
1 c                   Chopped onions
1 c                   Chopped green peppers
4                      Garlic cloves – minced
1/2 c                Chopped parsley
2 cans            Tomato sauce (8 oz. cans)
2                      Bay leaves
1 tb                 Salt
1/4 ts             Thyme
1/4 ts              Marjoram
1/2 ts              Tabasco (you could add a little more of this if you like spicy)
1 qt                  Water
1 1/2 c            Dry white wine
1 lb                  Halibut, 1″ pieces (I use halibut cheeks if I can find them – if you can’t
find halibut, any solid white fish will do)
1 lb                  Shrimp, shelled (I buy cooked baby shrimp so I don’t have to shell them)
36                    Clams (I use one or two cans of clams – drained – again to make life
simple)
Crab chunks (I love crab so I put a lot in and again, I buy it at my seafood
store already cooked)

In a 4-quart pot saute onions, green pepper and garlic in oil until tender. Add tomato sauce, spices and water. Simmer covered for 2 hours stirring occasionally. Add wine, cook uncovered 10 minutes. Add fish and cook (approximately 10 minutes). Add shrimp, clams, and crab until well heated. Avoid stirring as it will break up the fish chunks.

Serve with French bread and a green salad. Serves 6.

Be sure to leave a comment to be entered to win a prize and to be entered into the grand giveaway that will be announced tomorrow morning!
This entry was posted in #DD and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #DD – My favorite Christmas Eve meal!

  1. Regina Ross says:

    Thanks for sharing your recipe,it sounds yummy =)
    MERRY CHRISTMAS !!!
    reginamayross@gmail.com

  2. Shelly says:

    Sounds like the type of meal that’s easy to fix and not a lot of clean up. Thanks for the recipe. Will have to check out your book. Nice cover. 🙂

Leave a Reply

