Interview with Robin Badillo

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself. How does your day go? What keeps you writing?

This is a pretty good question and I really wish I had a really awesome and exciting answer. If you ask my kids, they would tell you that I am the most boring person in the word and if it weren’t for people whose favorite hobby is watching paint dry, they would probably be right.

My days are spent checking emails, promoting, interviewing, researching miscellaneous material pertaining to current works in progress, arguing with my dogs when they insist on my undivided attention, arguing with my teenagers about what they don’t want for dinner, and somewhere in all of that, if my muse is cooperating, I manage to write. I guess when you get down to it, it is rather boring.

Everything I do, I do for my kids. They keep me going. I’m the only parent they have and I can’t afford to give up on my dreams. They see and hear everything and no matter how boring my days may be, setting an example of perseverance in the wake of adversity is the key to their future successes in life.

2. What brought you to writing erotica? What do you love about it?

I actually started writing erotica by accident. I had originally set out to write young adult romance, but after completing my first trilogy and seeing it published, I couldn’t help but feel my characters had a much deeper passion than I had allowed them to convey. With each subsequent book, the heat level has risen and my characters have taken their love and desire to the levels they felt comfortable with, even if they often make me blush.

There is a fine line between sensuality and smut and I am careful to stay well within tasteful boundaries. I have a responsibility to myself and my personal belief system and I respect it at all times.

I have been fortunate in that my family, friends and peers have encouraged the direction I have taken my stories and have supported me 100%. Readers have responded very positively and have begged for more, so as long as they’re all happy, so am I.

3. What are you working on now?

I have two stories in the works. One is a paranormal vampire romance, titled “McKenzie Falls”, and the other is a contemporary, ‘whodunit’ romance called, “Love Her Tender”. They are far from finished and giving me grief. Writer’s block couldn’t have come at a worse time with the holidays and a fresh new year on the horizon.

4. What is your—or your character’s—favorite erotic book? Sexy movie? Sex toy?

I don’t have a favorite movie, but there are some stand-out scenes in a couple of films that have made me squirm.

One scene was between Maria Bello and Viggo Mortenson in “A History of Violence” and takes place on a staircase. Oh my, was that one hot and intense. Whew!

Another was a scene I saw when I was fifteen and much too young to appreciate, between Rob Lowe and Mare Winningham at the end of “St. Elmo’s Fire”. Rob’s character, Billy, asked her to give him her virginity as a going away gift and she did. It was tender and passionate, just how I had imagined my first time would have been… with the exception of the guy’s name being Billy, that wasn’t exactly how it happened for me, but I’m certainly not complaining.

Movies are rarely true to life when it comes to first times or even sex in general, but being deflowered by Rob Lowe? Umm well, that would have been, as we said in the 80’s, totally awesome, dude!!

5. What’s the one thing you’ve always wanted to do? The top thing on your personal bucket list?

One thing I have always wanted to do is take my kids on an around the world trip. I haven’t traveled much. My oldest son, who is only nineteen, has already been to Japan and Europe and I would love to take all of them to see those places and so many more. Although he was much younger when he traveled as a Student Ambassador, he could still be our family tour guide.

6. What’s your personal romantic (or erotic) fantasy?

My personal romantic fantasy would be to spend a week in a secluded mountain chateau with a sexy hunk of a man, (a twenty-one year old Rob Lowe, would do nicely) being pampered with sensual massages and relaxing in a hot tub. The days would be filled with playful snowball fights, romantic sleigh rides and lots of hot chocolate leading to evenings filled with slow dancing, fine wine, smooth jazz and snuggling in front of a cozy fire. No computers or cell phones, no stress and no worries. Perfect.

Thank you so much for inviting me to hang out. I’ve had a really nice time. If anyone would like to know more about me or my books, you can find me all over the web.

Blog-Sealed with a Kiss: http://robinbadillo.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/robin.badillo

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/Robin_Badillo

Amazon Buy Link: http://tinyurl.com/7hxzyhk

eXtasy Books Buy Link: http://tinyurl.com/7rakn4l

This entry was posted in Interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Interview with Robin Badillo

  1. Regina Ross says:

    great interview !! i’ll have to check out your books 🙂

  2. Naomi says:

    Loved this interview! Must read your books 🙂

  3. Oh, I can’t wait for the new PNR to come out. Your books all convey so much emotion from your characters. I just love that from a book. Great interview!

  4. Thank you all for stopping in. I hope you will all friend me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter. There’s always a party going on somewhere. The more the merrier! Happy Holidays!!

  5. Great interview! I never set out to write erotic either, but just happened to write one story which led to more and there we are 😛

  6. Lynn Hones says:

    I loved the interview, Robin. A Rob Lowe man, huh. I’m more Brad Pitt when he was younger, like in Thelma and Louise, but to each her own. LOL

  7. Hey, Kellie… thank goodness for accidents and unintentional occurrences, huh?
    Lynn, we share good taste in men. I was as enthralled with Brad Pitt in those boots, wranglers and a cowboy hat as I was with Rob Lowe with long hair, and an earring, playing the sax in St. Elmo’s Fire. Love me some Pretty boys!! LOL!

  8. Miss Leanore says:

    I love this author. Her books are hot and I love those covers. Keep em coming, Ms Badillo!

  9. Wonderful interview, Robin! I didn’t set out to write erotica either but seems all of my stories turned in that direction. Those pesky characters just won’t stay quiet will they? I’m not complaining though! I love the pretty boys too but I am still in love with Rob Lowe now. Like a fine wine, he’s aged well. YUM! Now Vin Diesel has stolen my heart a bit but my Muse is okay with that since he has the rest of it! LOL

  10. Thank you so much, Leanore!! Hugs!
    Welcome, Tammy!! 🙂 My muse, Jason Craft, is a very understanding guy. He should be, I created him in book two of my Blood Hunter series. He just so happened to hang around and helped me write later heroes.
    I must agree you about Rob Lowe. He should be a poster boy for NO PLASTIC surgery. Naturally beautiful.
    Vin Diesel, well he is a whole other kinda man, huh?
    That’s the beauty of men, they come in so many yummy flavors. 🙂

  11. writesromine says:

    Great interview, Robin, you know I love you!! Keep up the awesome writing, girlie!!

Leave a Reply

