Interview with Monica Burns

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself. How does your day go? What keeps you writing?

I’ve been writing romance since I was nine years old. My first story was some sort of pirate romance. Probably influenced by my love of Errol Flynn movies. 😀 Now days, my time is all over the board when it comes to private life, writing, the day job and promo. When I’m in the groove, I’m up at 5:30am to write, then get ready for work a couple hours later, all day at the day job, stop at the gym for my mile swim, come home to eat a salad for dinner then a little email before I go to bed and start all over again. Actually…..that’s my ideal schedule. It’s not been happening like that of late due to some personal issues in my life, but I’m hoping that in the next couple of weeks, things will settle down and I can get back into the groove. I miss my groove. LOL

2. What brought you to writing erotica? What do you love about it?

Well, I don’t consider what I write as erotica, which doesn’t always have a happy ending. I call my work erotic romance because it’s no holds barred when it comes to sexual depictions, and yet there is always a HEA. There HAS to be an HEA in my books or it’s not a romance, and at this point in my life, I don’t want to write anything else but romance.

What I love about writing erotic romance is that it’s served as an outlet for me. A way to heal from a sexual assault. Writing erotic romance has served to help me push through the pain of raw wounds and heal wounds buried so deep I didn’t realize they were still there. Writing erotic romance has allowed me to push the boundaries of things that make me uncomfortable, but given me the freedom to stop writing, or reading for that matter, when the material stirs unpleasant memories.

3. What are you working on now?

Currently, I’m preparing to release a reissue of my novella from 2005, Love’s Portrait. I didn’t realize it at the time, but it was my first attempt to work out some of my pain. It was a tough book to write, but it worked, and I was happy to go back to Morgan and Julia’s story and revise and improve on the characterizations.

So, I’ve got that release going on at the same time as Inferno’s Kiss all while working on my next proposal for Berkley, which is a historical series. Readers seem to like my historicals best. 😀

4. What is your—or your character’s—favorite erotic book? Sexy movie? Sex toy?

If we’re talking “my” personal favorites, I’d have to say my favorite erotic book is Dracula. The sexual undertones of that book without actually detailing anything is a wonderful depiction of the Victorian sexual repression that happened when Queen Victoria took the throne. Sexy movie? Shakespeare In Love. Sweet and Sexy. Sex toy? I think I’ll pass on that one. J

5. What’s the one thing you’ve always wanted to do? The top thing on your personal bucket list?

Oh, lord. My bucket list is so long! I don’t know that I can say there’s the number one thing to do, just several number one priorities. Some of the items are going to Rome, Italy and Sicily to see my great-grandmother’s house, going to London, England and touring the countryside, going to the Opera Ball in Vienna, jumping out of a plane at the age of 80+, driving 110mph on one of the flat highways out west, riding on a tall ship, riding in a sail boat. There others, I just can ‘t think of them all at the moment. It’s a pretty long list.

6. What’s your personal romantic (or erotic) fantasy?

Being swept up off my feet by Rhett Butler and carried up that beautiful, romantic red staircase, just like Scarlet O’Hara. Or, being captured by a handsome, arrogant, sexy, alpha pirate who winds up falling madly in love with me. Or better yet, being a kick-ass heroine who rescues the handsome prince. I love switches like that.


Giveaway: Monica is kindly offering a copy of Inferno’s Kiss to one lucky reader.  Just post a comment below with a question for her, and a way to contact you and on Tuesday(27th), a winner will be picked at random.

Inferno’s Kiss by Monica Burns
Book 3 in The Order of the Sicari series
Penguin/Berkley
ISBN – 978-0425243145

Coming October 2011

The laws of desire…

 Dante Condellaire, heir apparent to the Sicari Lords, knows that being a true leader means sacrifice. For Dante it was relinquishing all erotic pleasures. But he never expected his willpower to be tested so fiercely by Cleopatra Vorenus, expert assassin of the Order, and daughter of the man he is positioned to succeed.

The rules of battle…

 Cleo prefers working alone—until she meets Dante who shares her goal: to destroy a Praetorian stronghold where Sicari women are imprisoned for devious purposes. Bringing the mission off without a hitch pumps up more than their resolve. It sets off a sexual spark too combustible to ignore.

Are all made to be broken.

 As their attraction flares like an inferno, the stakes are raised. So are the risks. Before the mission is over, Dante and Cleo will be plunged into a dangerous conspiracy where a traitor threatens the very foundation of the Order, as well as the fiery bond between Dante and Cleo—warriors and lovers now torn between duty and desire.

 

PreOrder Links

The Book Depository (International readers/free shipping)
http://www.bookdepository.com/Infernos-Kiss-Monica-Burns/9780425243145

Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/Infernos-Novel-Order-Monica-Burns/dp/0425243141/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_6

B&N
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/infernos-kiss-monica-burns/1030147888?ean=9780425243145&itm=1&usri=monica+burns+inferno+s+kiss

Books-A-Million
http://www.booksamillion.com/p/Infernos-Kiss/Monica-Burns/9780425243145?id=5125165302595

 

Excerpt Link
Read the first three chapters of Inferno’s Kiss
http://www.monicaburns.com/BookshelfInfernoKissExcerpt.htm

Bio

An award-winning author of erotic romance, Monica Burns penned her first short romance story at the age of nine when she selected the pseudonym she uses today. From the days when she hid her stories from her sisters to her first completed full-length manuscript, she always believed in her dream despite rejections and setbacks. A workaholic wife and mother, Monica believes it’s possible for the good guy to win if they work hard enough

This entry was posted in giveaways, Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Interview with Monica Burns

  1. Monica Burns says:

    Just popping in to say good morning. Thanks for having me here today Josee. I’d also like to say that Love’s Portrait is now available at all the usual eRetailer outlets, including

    Amazon — http://amzn.to/rmEFdp
    PubIt — http://bit.ly/nldajK
    ARe — http://bit.ly/nNX0jt
    Smashwords — http://bit.ly/nJCFol

    I hope you’ll check out Love’s Portrait, and the upcoming Inferno’s Kiss

  2. Ora says:

    I really loved Love’s Portrait. I just couldn’t put it down. I have not read any of the Order of the Sicari series yet, however I have picked up Assasin’s Honor. I love all of your historicals, so I know I will enjoy this series too. You are a wonderful storyteller.

    oeamis(at)carolina(dot)rr(dot)com

  3. Monica Burns says:

    Ora, thank you for that lovely compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed Love’s Portrait. Morgan has to be one of my favorite heroes that I’ve written. Be sure and post a review or comment wherever you bought Love’s Portrait. It helps others consider downloading the book. Thanks again!

  4. Josee Renard says:

    Monica, I LOVE your reference to Dracula – when I reread that book (thanks to a friend and her son’s English class), I saw the Victorian sexual repression (which I’m fascinated by) and the deeply sexual underpinnings to that book. I’m looking forward to reading your books…. Thanks for dropping by.

    Josee

  5. Monica Burns says:

    Thanks for having me Josee. I love Dracula as the ultimate anti-hero. I saw Dracula the Musical on off-Broadway a few years back and the lead played Dracula in an INCREDIBLY sexy way. It was awesome.

  6. Hi Monica! Just dropped by to say hello…
    OMG… Your cover for Love’s Portrait is freakin’ HOT! I can hardly wait!
    Also… I love the way you stretch our imagination… Rhett Butler was sexy… I’ll have to re-think the way I see Dracula…

  7. Monica Burns says:

    Thank Linda. I hope you get a chance to download Love’s Portrait soon! And yes, you SHOULD re-think Dracula. 🙂

  8. Regina Ross says:

    Hi, i love your books.great interview!!!
    reginamayross@gmail.com

  9. Monica Burns says:

    Regina, thank you. So happy to hear it when readers say they enjoy my books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

