Interview with Callie Croix

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself. How does your day go? What keeps you writing?
I’m a part time Registered Massage Therapist and stay-at-home mom, but my little guy is going to Kindergarten now (full time), so suddenly for five days a week I have six hours to myself. As all you moms out there can understand, this is practically inconceivable to me. Part of me doesn’t know what to do with myself, but I’m hoping to put a large chunk of the extra time to good use and churn out more books! That will make the accounting department here at home happy, and keep me from having to work at a massage therapy clinic full time.

To be honest, my muse and the pressure to keep working on my next project keeps me writing. Every writer I know has that pesky muse flitting about in their head, coming up with more tantalizing stories while the author is trying to work on another. The hardest part is staying the course while finishing that project before jumping into another one.

2. What brought you to writing erotica? What do you love about it?
Actually, I started writing erotic romance on a dare from my other pen name’s romantic suspense editor at The Wild Rose Press. I met her last May at TWRP’s retreat at a dude ranch outside of Austin, TX, and she suckered me in to writing a kinky story set on the ranch that she’d dreamed up with a friend. “Oh, come on,” she said. “Your writing’s getting so hot anyway—I know you can do it! Come on, come to the dark side with me.”

And so I did. Per her rules I dutifully picked out a hero’s name beginning with D (Deacon), and wrote a story fitting within the parameters my editor had outlined to me. And once I found the guts to type in that uber explicit language and actually leave it in the manuscript, there was no going back. Since then I’ve written a second story for the series as well, and my editor has penned the third and fourth. I also have two other novellas contracted with Carina Press, one of which comes out in November. That one features a ménage-a-trois, something I never thought I’d be able to write. *cough*. See how far I’ve fallen? No telling how far I’ll slide now!

My favorite part about writing hot romance is exploring the intense connection between the hero and heroine. I love showing their needs and their true feelings for each other through that sexual exploration. My heroes are all military or former military alpha males (I can’t help it—they’re what I write about in my romantic suspense, too), but they know how to temper all that testosterone with a care and tenderness guaranteed to make the heroine melt all over.

3. What are you working on now?

I’m working on a novella featuring a determined active duty Navy SEAL that’s not afraid to go after what he wants, and one very lucky woman who’s about to have her darkest fantasy come true.

4. What is your—or your character’s—favorite erotic book? Sexy movie? Sex toy?

Oh, that’s a toughie! I love Lisa Marie Rice’s books, but I’d have to say right now that Anne Calhoun is my favorite erotic romance author. Her book Liberating Lacey is my favorite of all time. I highly recommend it!

Movie: 9 1/2 Weeks, except when the hero gets all creepy and weird and mean, and Top Gun, because hello, there are hot military men everywhere both in and out of uniform (the volleyball scene…oh my).
Sex toy: the We Vibe ii http://we-vibe.com/about-we-vibe?t=msn
Do you know about this toy? If you don’t, you should. I bought one (purely for research purposes, of course), and I um…really like it. Go check it out! You can thank me later Smile

5. What’s the one thing you’ve always wanted to do? The top thing on your personal bucket list?
I really, really want to overcome my fear of flying. I’ve suffered with it for more than 20 years, since a classmate in high school was the sole survivor of a crash, and all the flying I’ve done since hasn’t helped at all. If I ever conquer it I want to take my family to see all kinds of Civil War sites back east (because I’m a Civil War freak), then Paris and the British Isles. Seeing Ireland is at the top of my bucket list, because I’m mostly Irish by ancestry and I’ve always wanted to go there and see if fairies really do exist. I suspect they might.

6. What’s your personal romantic (or erotic) fantasy?
Oooh, you’re so bad! But okay, I’ll tell you. I love the fantasy of a dominant alpha male that gets off on taking charge in the bedroom and making his woman love every second of it. And if he’s military or former military… *fans self*

Here’s the blurb for Deacon’s Touch (Dume Ranch Series, #1):
After her own engagement goes to hell, workaholic Jessica Talbot dreads her friend’s bachelorette party at a dude ranch in Nowheresville, Texas. But the outlook for the weekend brightens when Deacon Dumen picks her up at the airport. The sexy cowboy awakens every dormant sexual fantasy with nothing more than a friendly smile and a handshake.

Ex-Air Force Pararescueman Deke Dumen doesn’t know what to make of the sexy yet reserved brunette who breaks through the walls he built after an injury ended his career and a divorce soured him on relationships. As a guest at his family’s ranch Jessie is off limits, but the Dom in him rebels at the restriction, even as he realizes his penchant for control in the bedroom would likely scare the holy hell out of her. When Jessie shocks Deke by asking for exactly what he’s been craving, he’s ready to break the rules and introduce her to his own brand of dominance. Her willing surrender rocks them both to the core. But once the weekend’s over, they must decide if it was just a wild fling or the start of something more.

I hope you enjoy your visit to the Dume Ranch, and getting to know the Dumen boys a bit better.

Readers can find me at:
www.calliecroix.com

www.naughtyauthorchicks.blogspot.com

Facebook 

Thanks so much for having me here today!

Callie is kindly giving away a digital copy of Deacon’s Touch. So be sure to tweet this blog post and post a comment with a way to contact you if you are the randomly chosen winner.

This entry was posted in Interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Interview with Callie Croix

  1. Regina Ross says:

    sounds like a great read !!!

    reginamayross@gmail.com

  2. Nissie says:

    Great interview and great blurb! Can’t wait to read the book 🙂
    Hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend!

  3. kaylea cross says:

    Hi, Regina! Thanks for coming by.

    Hey there, Nissie! My weekend is going by too fast. Hope you’re having a great one ;).

  4. kaylea cross says:

    Regina, you’ve won the book! I’m sending it to you right now.

    Happy reading,
    Callie 🙂

  5. joseerenard says:

    Thanks so much for being a great interviewee and for kindly giving away a book!

    Josee

  6. kaylea cross says:

    And thank you! Great to see you on Saturday. I miss everyone at GVC!

Leave a Reply

