Interview with Julia Rachel Barrett

1.         Tell us a little bit about yourself. How does your day go? What keeps you writing?

I’m a busy person.  Like pretty much every writer I know, I have to be a professional multi-tasker – hubby, kids, pets, household…I’m on leave from my job for a year – I’m a registered nurse and I saved up lots of vacation time!
My day begins early, super early.  I hike with my dog before everyone else is out.  The rest of my day is spent doing the usual mom/wife things, working on promo, replying to emails, blogging, cooking – because I love to cook – and writing.  I try to fit in 2-3 solid hours of writing per day.  I’m passionate about writing.  Been doing it since I was a kid.

2.         What brought you to writing erotica? What do you love about it?

Hmmm.  Let me think.  I write erotic romance, heavy on the romance part.  But I do love to include erotic scenes between loving partners.  I realized after reading some erotic romance that I’d been making up those stories for years, I simply didn’t know what to call them!

3.         What are you working on now?

I’m working on a sequel to my latest release, Incorporeal.  Here’s a blurb for Incorporeal:

Sara Wise is sick of ghosts. They’ve haunted her since she was a child, destroying her family, endangering her life. When an incorporeal being appears in her shower, she curses him soundly and orders him out, but this ghost is sticky. Not only does he invade her shower, he moves into her home, invading her dreams, sharing her bed. The reluctant Sara finds herself falling in love with a dead man.

Despite Sara’s objections, Natan de Manua isn’t permitted to leave. Protecting the woman is both his penance and his means to redemption.  She’s not easy to protect, she fights him nearly every step of the way, except in her bed. Nathan may have come to regain his soul, but instead he risks losing his heart.

4.         What is your—or your character’s—favorite erotic book? Sexy movie? Sex toy?

My characters don’t usually watch movies or play with toys, but they do appreciate the sensuality of fine food.  One of my contemporaries, Beauty and the Feast, involves a personal chef and a winery owner.  It’s very sensual and palatable.

5.         What’s the one thing you’ve always wanted to do? The top thing on your personal bucket list?

My personal bucket list?  Honestly?  Climbing Mt. Everest.  I’m threatening to climb it for my 80th birthday, despite my kids’ objections.

6.         What’s your personal romantic (or erotic) fantasy?

Anything on horseback…I don’t know – being swept up into the arms of a rugged Highlander?  I love horses and riding, but I’m lucky enough to have a very sexy husband, so…


links:

Website:  http://juliarachelbarrett.net

Twitter:  @JuliaRBarrett

This entry was posted in Interview and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Interview with Julia Rachel Barrett

  1. Thanks for hosting me! This was a fun interview!

  2. basiasbookshelf says:

    Nice interview! Julia, your poor kids probably have gray hair already from some of your exploits, er, adventures. 🙂 Just go ahead and do Everest now so you can do something boring when you’re 80, like drive a Formula 1 race car.

    I can’t wait for the sequel to Incorporeal, I loved the first book.

  3. anny cook says:

    Liked your bucket list choice! There are sooooo many things to do and so little time!

  4. Hi Barbara – When I’m near the end of my life, I’ll climb Everest! And stay up top. 🙂

    I know, Anny, so little time!

  5. Josee Renard says:

    Julia – Everest? Ewwwww, just the thought of it gives me the creeps but it also inspires me. Thanks so much for joining us. It was great having you on the blog!

    Josee

Leave a Reply

