Interview with Emily Cale

1.         Tell us a little bit about yourself. How does your day go? What keeps you writing?

Well, I’m currently a PhD student/research slave, so a large portion of my day goes into one of these two activities. Most of my writing occurs on nights and weekends, though I often slip some in throughout the day when I’m really into something. My characters are all very noisy though and insist on talking in my head until I get their stories down on paper.

Really, writing for me is a way to overcome some of the stress and strict rules that I have in research. It’s a chance for me to work on what I want without so much direction and pushing.

2.         What brought you to writing erotica? What do you love about it?

I was actually trapped in my house during a snow storm and had completely run out of things to do. I was playing around on the internet when I discovered all these publishers of erotic romance. I started reading and then wondering if I could write something like that. I’d always been writing something, but this was my first venture into erotica. I found that it came very naturally to me and I’ve been writing it ever since.

I think what I love most about it is that you get to see all sides of the characters. The door doesn’t close just before they start stripping off their clothes. I like knowing what they are like in the bedroom and with each other when the walls are broken down.

3.         What are you working on now?

Right now I’m working on a couple other short stories, but nothing I can say anything about right now.

4.         What is your favorite sexy movie?

This is so hard because I love so many movies but the majority of them are comedies that aren’t terribly sexy. Anything with Jason Statham is a definite sexy movie in my book.

5.         What’s the one thing you’ve always wanted to do? The top thing on your personal bucket list?

I really want to be able to say that I’ve visited all 7 continents. So far I’ve made it to 5—North America, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Australia—so I’m doing pretty well. I’m working on planning a trip to South America for when I finish my doctorate.

6.         What’s your personal romantic fantasy?

I have always been a sucker for candles and bathtubs.

 

Blurb for Dessert First:

Playing perfect daughter at her mother’s parties isn’t Alexis Arnette’s idea of a good time. She always leaves grumpy and hungry. Unimpressed with the spread laid out in the living room, she sneaks off to the kitchen to find something a little more satisfying. What she discovers is chef Morgan Crane, a man who is even more delicious than his baked goods. When one taste of his creations leads to more and her good girl demeanor dissolves, would the boring evening turn into one she’ll never forget?

Buy Link: http://www.decadentpublishing.com/product_info.php?products_id=322&osCsid=a9c6a82b13f7a373db8280f4c0517003

Twitter Link: http://www.twitter.com/EmilyCale

Blog: http://www.emilycale.blogspot.com

 

This entry was posted in Interview and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

