Interview with Viki Lyn

 

Tell us a little bit about yourself. How does your day go? What keeps you writing?    

Hello there! For those who don’t know me, my name is Viki Lyn, author of contemporary and paranormal m/m romance. Sparked by a keen interest in yaoi, also known as Japanese Boys Love manga, I began my love affair with gay romance. After reading and collecting whatever I could get my hands on, I wrote my first m/m romance in 2006. My latest release, Fighting Chance is published by Loose Id, and is the second book in my vampire series. The first book, Last Chance, won the Rainbow Award for Best Paranormal in 2010! I hope Corbin and Johan grab the hearts of my readers as did Stu and Aric from LC.

My days are never the same. I don’t have a set writing schedule. I sometimes think I should, that I would write more books that way. But I’m the type of person that thrives under the freedom of a looser structure — although I’m serious when it comes to my edits and meeting my editor’s deadlines.

Writing is such a wonderful creative outlet. I have my art degree and worked in mixed media for years. I need some type of creative outlet or else I’d go crazy with boredom! That’s the worst. Writing is never boring because there are a myriad of stories to tell.

What brought you to writing erotica? What do you love about it?

Well, I’d say erotica found me. I set out to write a sexy m/m romance and realized when I wrote the sex scenes they were hotter and more sexually explicit then my m/f romances. It was a natural transition into erotica. When I write the sex scenes, they have to easily slip into the scene of the story. I will not just ‘plop’ in a sex scene to make the book hotter. That doesn’t work for me. So, some of my books are hotter than others – depending on the story.

What are you working on now?

I’m in the middle of editing two books – The Hunter Within which will be released October 25 with Loose Id. It’s a continuation of Jack and Antoine’s romance. And, I co-wrote a vampire series with Vina Grey. The book is titled For The Bite Of It. It’s about an exiled vampire who owns a cupcake bakery! This will be published by Liquid Silver on October 10. Vina and I are currently writing the second book of the series.

What is your—or your character’s—favorite erotic book? Sexy movie? Sex toy?

Sexy is different for everyone. I love Richard Armitage in North and South. God, that man’s was brooding, hot and passionate in that movie. His passion simmered. Toys, well, I don’t really use them 😉 but maybe I should let some of my characters have fun!

What’s the one thing you’ve always wanted to do? The top thing on your personal bucket list?

I’m very spoiled. My bucket list includes lots of traveling. I’ve seen many sacred sites around the world – the last trip was Egypt, and it was fantastic. The temples were awe-inspiring. I’d love to travel to Japan and also see the Van Gogh museum in Amsterdam.

What’s your personal romantic (or erotic) fantasy?

 Oooohh, that’s between me and the sheets! *g*

Viki Lyn’s Biography

Rainbow award winner, Viki Lyn is a successful writer of sexy gay romance. Sparked by a keen interest in yaoi, also known as Japanese Boys Love manga, she began her own love affair with gay romance. After reading and collecting whatever she could get her hands on, she wrote her first man love romance in 2006. Her stories are an eclectic mix but it is always the romance that drives the story to its final happily-ever-after. Her book, Out of Bounds, has received stellar reviews for realistically depicting the hardship many gay people experience when coming out. Fighting Chance has been just released and is the second book in her vampire series, the first book, Last Chance an All Romance Ebooks bestseller!

A native of California, Viki travels the world in search of inspiration but calls Arizona home. She shares her beautiful adobe home with her wonderful husband and favorite man (fictional or real).

Favorite Movies: When Harry Met Sally, Something’s Gotta Give, Latter Days, Lord of the Rings, Star Trek, Sense and Sensibility, North and South

Favorite color: Red

Astrological signs: Aries with Cancer moon and Virgo rising

http://www.vikilyn.com

This entry was posted in Interview and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interview with Viki Lyn

  1. Viki Lyn says:

    Thank you Josee for having me on your blog! Viki

  2. Josee Renard says:

    Viki, it’s been so great to have you with us – and I’ve just downloaded Last Chance and can hardly wait to read it! That may be the very best thing about having other writers guest blog on my site – I get to read about, and buy, their books!

    Josee

  3. Viki Lyn says:

    Josee, enjoy Last Chance! I loved writing Stu and Aric’s love story! They have cameo appearances in Fighting Chance 😉 V.

Leave a Reply

