Interview with Nicole North

1.         Tell us a little bit about yourself. How does your day go?
What keeps you writing?
Thanks for allowing me to be here today! One thing that most people
know about me is that I’m fanatical about Scotland. I find it to be
the most beautiful place in the world. I was fortunate to get to visit
Scotland not long ago with my husband. He says that he loves it more
than I do. I doubt that! But I’m thrilled he enjoyed the trip.

Anyway, I love writing about Scotland and setting stories there. As for my
schedule, I generally eat breakfast as I’m checking emails or visiting
blogs. Then I write for as many hours as I can. Sometimes I do promo
here and there during the day. I love writing, creating and exploring
new worlds. One of the most rewarding things about writing is creating
characters that are so real that I fall in love with them. I feel I
know them as I know my friends.

2.         What brought you to writing erotica? What do you love about it?
I generally write erotic romance rather than erotica. I do love a
heavy dose of romance, emotion and happily ever after in there. But I
also enjoy writing hot and erotic sex scenes or love scenes. (I also
teach a workshop about how to do this.) According to some, I just have
a knack for the sexy hot scenes, and I find them fun to write. It is
apparently one of my strengths and I decided to take advantage of it.
I must have a naughty muse. LOL

Blade of the Wolf, my latest release,
is probably my most erotic work so far. It is also darker and edgier
than some of my other stories. For it, I knew I had to create a hero
with sensuality oozing from his pores. He’s a highly sexual immortal
werewolf (or wolf-shifter) with some other special abilities. One of
my favorite elements in any story is sexual tension and I was able to
bring this to a high level in Blade of the Wolf because the hero has
been ordered not to touch the heroine. If he does, it could spell
disaster for him.

3.         What are you working on now?
Blade of the Wolf, a paranormal erotic romance, was just released from
Ellora’s Cave. My first with them and my first novel published. (The
others are novellas.) This is what Blade of the Wolf is about:

Ronan, immortal werewolf and Scottish Sgian Dubh Guardian, faces his
most challenging, yet enticing, mission in centuries. He must protect
sexy clairvoyant medium Syrena Ellis from an evil incubus intent on
stealing her powerful life force. She awakens a raging arousal in
Ronan, but if he gives in to temptation, he will be punished.

Dark and edgy, Ronan captivates Syrena. He is hot, hard and in
control, yet his scorching glances and sinful kisses tell her he
yearns for her. Even though she’s only a job, she finds a way past his
iron-willed resistance. She’s determined to explore the depths of
erotic passion with him. They’re unaware that their explosive sexual
encounters are providing the enemy incubus with heightened energy,
making him almost impossible to defeat. Syrena’s forbidden desire and
scorching lust for Ronan could destroy them both.

At the end of July or early August I’ll have a paranormal erotic
romance novella entitled Scoundrel in a Kilt released in the Secrets
Volume 30 Desires Unleashed anthology from Red Sage. This is the third
story in my Shapeshifters in Kilts series.
When a shape-shifting Highland chieftain and a modern day supermodel
meet in 1621 Scotland, neither will ever forget their earthshaking
erotic connection.

Right now I’m polishing up another novella (contemporary erotic
romance) for my Ellora’s Cave editor to consider. I call it Guilty
Cravings, but the title could change. I’m also working on a couple of
other novellas. One is a follow up to my Laird of Darkness story from
Carina Press.

4.         What is your—or your character’s—favorite erotic book? Sexy
movie? Sex toy?
In Guilty Cravings, the heroine has had a crush on the hero for three
years. He’s a cop so she has all sorts of erotic cop fantasies, some
involving handcuffs. The hero finds her stash of erotic romance novels
featuring cop heroes and reads her favorite scene. Then he decides to
make that fantasy a reality. Of course she has a few of her favorite
sex toys to play with to fill the void since she’s divorced and the
hero is beyond her reach for a while.

5.         What’s the one thing you’ve always wanted to do? The top
thing on your personal bucket list?
Stay in Scotland for several months and explore every inch of the
country. I have been a few times but the trips have been at most two
weeks. I want to see so much that I generally end up rushing around,
when what I really want to do is go slow and take it all in.

6.         What’s your personal romantic (or erotic) fantasy?
My fantasies are probably revealed in my books. LOL That’s the thing
about writing… you generally expose your thoughts, beliefs, dreams
and fantasies to the world. A blend of emotion and eroticism can
create an explosive passion. That’s what I love about writing erotic
romance.

Links
http://www.nicolenorth.com/
http://fierceromance.blogspot.com/
http://twitter.com/#!/NicoleNorth
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Nicole-North-Books/129305184332
http://www.facebook.com/nicolenorth1

This entry was posted in Interview and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interview with Nicole North

  1. Great blog, Josee. Nicole, congrats on your latest release. Blade of the Wolf sounds like another winner!

  2. joseerenard says:

    Nicole, it’s so great to have you with us – and congratulations on the Ellora’s Cave book. I’ve heard nothing but good things about them.

    I’m with you about Scotland – it’s one of my favorite places. Although I have to admit I’d like to be there – just once – when it wasn’t raining!

    Thank you so much for blogging with us and, Pat, thanks for checking out the blog.

    Josee

  3. Nicole has been my teacher in many classes and I can attest to the fact that she is a great writer and a great teacher. Her classes on sexual tension and sex scenes has made it easier for me to get through these scenes because they don’t come easy for me. (I know, Nicole is rolling her eyes at my comment.) My very first story in my new Kindle was her Laird of Darkness and I couldn’t put it down. I know her new stories will all be successes. We both share a love for Scotland and a hero in a kilt… You go, Nicole. Can’t wait to read the newest release.

Leave a Reply

