It’s public

One of the great things about living in a city like Vancouver is that we have, especially since the Olympics, a whole lot of public art. There are sculptures all over the place, interesting art that comments on the history of a place, posters and billboards. Below are just a few of the photos I’ve taken over the past year – art that jumps right up out of the landscape of the city –

The photo at the top of this blog shows the sails at Canada Place – almost every photo in every magazine story about Vancouver includes these sails. They sit over top of the Convention Centre and are surrounded during the summer by cruise ships stopping in on their way to Alaska…

The facade of the Vancouver Art Gallery – it’s almost always draped, stories high, in a representation of a show that’s on inside…

 

 

 

And here’s me with the largest bird in the world – it’s part of the public art that sits at the Olympic Athlete’s Village – it’s so big I cut off a bit of its tail and its head…

Emily Carr, with her monkey and donkey, one of Canada’s most renowned female artists…

 

 

Below is a sculpture that has become so much a part of the beach that I’m not sure anyone realizes that it isn’t organic – it’s one of the things I see almost every day because it’s on my favorite beach walk…

 

I’ll end with these guys – they live in English Bay. There are about 20 of them, each one different, each one truly unique. They’re big big guys, maybe 15 feet tall? And every time I see them, they make me laugh. They stand in a circle and you often see people hugging one of them or making sure they get their picture taken with every single on of them. People people have had their wedding photographs taken with them – I think it would be a good omen, being surrounded by all these smiles on your wedding day…

 

Josee

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s public

  1. I’ve always wanted to see Vancouver…I have decided I shall see more of my country…I first need to start with seeing more of Ontario, where I live….

Leave a Reply

