The Blog Hop

 

Lush Book Reviews

What works for you?
Often when I’m writing, I’m talking about what my characters are seeing or doing or listening to. In writing Kiss Lonely Goodbye – the third story in the Part Time Lovers serial – Belle is setting up the hotel room for her first meeting with Sam. She wants to play some fuck-me-silly sexy music and it got me to thinking about what kind of music really turns me on.
The first thing I did was Google “sexy music”. Google, as it is for many writers, is my lifeline at times like these. Because you know what the first thing that came up was? Billboard’s 50 sexiest songs! How can you beat that? Here’s the link: http://www.billboard.com/features/the-50-sexiest-songs-of-all-time-1004066338.story#/features/the-50-sexiest-songs-of-all-time-1004066338.story. Now, I have to admit that I haven’t heard all of these songs – especially the newer ones – and many of the songs on the list I don’t find sexy at all. But there are some songs on this list that make me hot just thinking about them, let alone listening to them with my man by my side.
I’ve never owned a Donna Summers album, but because I’m how old I am (and you can probably guess it pretty closely), all those songs turn me on. I was young and single and partying, and being in a club and dancing to these songs was as erotic as it was possible to be. Same thing with Roberta Flack’s Feel Like Makin’ Love and Marvin Gaye’s Sexual Healing. And can’t forget Lady Marmalade. These songs turned whole clubs into dancing sex machines.
One of my favorite hot, sexy songs is The Pointer Sisters’ Slow Hand. These lyrics are all about what works for a woman. I’m listening to it as I write this blog – and I’m thinking about a man with a slow hand and an easy touch. That nice slow, slide into sex is what it’s all about. And once is never enough with a man like you, do that to me one more time… I never thought I’d say this, but this sweet-sounding song by Captain and Tennille is the perfect accompaniment to Slow Hand. I’m willing to bet that the lyrics for both of these songs were written by women.
But then there are the songs — and the singers — that don’t make it onto the Billboard list (which for my taste is filled up with a lot of raunchy songs about what turns men on – not bad, just not for me, and probably not for most women). What about Chet Baker? Not many sexier singers than him. Or Etta James’ At Last? Not a single song by Barry White?
What songs, bands or singers turn you on? What would you play on that first meeting with the sexiest man in the world?
On to the giveaway:
I’m giving away a few random gifts:
A Josee mug
A Josee pen
A Josee notepad
Josee magnetsSo on to the important stuff, how do you win a prize??

All you have to do is comment on this blog post, and tweet the the post. . be sure to include an @josee_renard so I know that you tweeted it.

Josee

This entry was posted in giveaways and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Blog Hop

  1. Donna/BLHmistress says:

    Oh an excuse to mention my favorite band 😉 Bon Jovi , if I wanted a slow song I would pick Bed of Roses. If I wanted a sexy song it would be Dirty Little Secret (not well known to alot ).

    vampiremistress2010(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. Josee Renard says:

    Hmmm, Dirty Little Secret – great song. Wish I’d thought of it.

    Josee

  3. Thank you for this giveaway! edysicecreamlover18ATgmailDOTcom tweeted http://twitter.com/#!/Icecream1891/status/88119030682095617

  4. Heather F says:

    Maybe some 90’s Bryan Adams. (Everything I Do) I Do It For You or Have You Ever Really Loved A Woman? The love songs written in the 90’s were some of the best!

    dani3222001(at)yahoo(dot)com

  5. Sherry S. says:

    One of my favorite songs is Heaven by Bryan Adams. I don’t have twitter.

  6. Carol L. says:

    I think a very sexy song is ” Kiss You All Over” by Exile. Great and sensual song from 1978.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

  7. I’ve seen so many posts about this event…Very cool…

  8. I would say Glory Box by Portishead is a good one.

    quixoticdreamer(at)hotmail(dot)com

  9. Tweeted

    Feelin’ Love by Paula Cole too. 😉

    quixoticdreamer(at)hotmail(dot)com

  10. Thanks for participating and offering this prize package.

    I tweeted about your giveaway:

    dod@rogers.com

  11. Thanks for the great giveaway.

  12. Mary says:

    Def Leppard is my favorite so I can make love and other things to any of their songs! Thanks for the giveaway!

    mary_reiss @ hotmail.com

    Tweeted ~ https://twitter.com/#!/SweepingMe/status/89563005343367168 and now following you @sweepingme

  13. Krysta Banco says:

    Thanks for the link!
    tweeted: http://twitter.com/#!/YearofTiger86/status/89865191038267393

    Morganlafey86(at)aol(dot)com

  14. shadow says:

    i love bon jovi! my favorite song of theirs is always. love it! i dont have a twitter, hope i can still enter. thank you for the awesome giveaway!
    shadow_kohler(at)att(dot)net

  15. JoAnna B says:

    Thanks for the giveaway!
    tweeted: beckerjo
    beckerjo at verizon dot net

Leave a Reply

