Interview with Delilah Marvelle


1. Tell us a little bit about yourself. How does your day go? What keeps you writing?
I write historical romance for people who seriously want to step away from the norm. A lot of people think I use modern themes to write my historicals, but in reality, the people in history were no different from the people of today. They were people, above all else and nothing will ever change that. Not a setting and not society. I love taking real history, then taking everything we know about historical romance and twisting it on its head and leaving it uncensored. No closed doors, here. It’s all about being honest and open with ourselves and the relationships we’re in, despite it being set in the 1800’s.

My day basically started from 7 a.m. and ends about 3 p.m. I turn off all phones, don’t look at email and take my writing very seriously. When I’m under deadline, I have a tendency to write as many as 12 hours a day to meet my deadline. I get pretty obsessed when it comes to my stories and if I have a particular idea, I won’t be able to sleep or eat until it’s out of my head. What keeps me writing? Most writers write because they were compelled to write after personal and tragic experiences compelled them to share their heart and soul. I had a pretty rough upbringing and writing has always been my way of coping with my emotions and the world around me. It’s free therapy, basically, LOL. That sense of being able to let go of my thoughts and emotions is what keeps me writing. It’s something I’ll always do whether I continue to be published or not.

2. What brought you to writing? What do you love about it?
I’ve been writing ever since my father started reading to me. I was always the sort of girl who could never accept the way other authors wrote their books (I was a total snot as a kid) and so I started writing and changing the endings on my own. It got addictive and I’ve been doing it ever since, except instead of writing endings to existing books, I wrote my own. What do I love about it? I’d say the idea of playing God (bwahahaha). When I tell a man to love a woman, he does, damn it. And when I tell the woman to love her man, she does, damn it. And I love that! LOL. There is a sense of ultimate control of the world you create and a sense of fulfillment knowing that in the end, no matter what goes in the world, there WILL be a happily ever after.

3. What are you working on now?
I’m working on my Rumor Series, set in 1830, London and New York City. I’m having so much fun throwing the artistocracy and the slums together. There’s a lot of new research I have to do, since I knew very little about New York City in 1830, but boy is it ever fun!! I just turned in the first book in the Rumor Series, FOREVER AND A DAY (out in January 2012). The second one I’m just getting started on and I can’t wait to see what happens next. Because I never know what happens next with my characters or books, lol, and that’s half the fun!

4. What is your—or your character’s—favorite erotic book? Sexy movie? Sex toy?
Favorite erotic book would have to be Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters. Sexy movie? Secretary with James Spader. It’s twisted and sexy and that’s what I’m all about. Sex toy? This girl doesn’t do toys. She has her man. He’s the toy, LOL.

5. What’s the one thing you’ve always wanted to do? The top thing on your personal bucket list?
I’ve always wanted to go race car driving. REAL race car driving. One of these days, I plan on investing in a race car and going to a track and just doing it. It’s been something I’ve wanted to do for years and this girl isn’t getting any younger. I’m thinking in about another 3 years, I’m going to make the time for it.
6. What’s your personal romantic (or erotic) fantasy?
Hahaha, I would say, to have all of my heroes in MY bed. All at once or one by one, it doesn’t matter. Outside, inside, upsidedown. Snort. But shhhhh….my husband would kill me. He knows I drool over some of the guys I write about, but to actually admit that I want to have sex with my heroes is probably not something my husband would ever want to know, LOL.

This entry was posted in Interview and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interview with Delilah Marvelle

  1. Delilah, it’s so great to have you here and to hear about you and your writing. I envy you that day but, having spent many many many years writing in short blocks of time among everything else in my day, I probably couldn’t do it even if I had it. And YES – I loved Tipping the Velvet and Secretary – hot, hot, hot.

    One of the reasons I love these interviews, is that I get to put new books on my list. I’m off to Chapters – I’m in Vancouver – to pick up one of yours this afternoon. I have a free evening so I’ll just read the whole thing. Scandal, scandal, scandal, which one shall I choose?

    Josee

  2. My dearest Josee,
    Thank you SO much for having me!!! And boy do I ever wish I could learn how to do things in short blocks of time. The grass is always greener on the other side 🙂

Leave a Reply

