Interview with Madison Layle

1.         Tell us a little bit about yourself. How does your day go?

Since I live in the country, my days are usually quite peaceful and laid back. While my husband goes off to work, I spend the day at home on the computer, either doing research for stories or writing scenes in my next work. I also spend a great deal of time brainstorming ideas with my writing partner with whom I communicate via instant messaging.

What keeps you writing? The fun of exploring my more creative side. That and hearing from fans offers a lot of motivation to keep doing what I love.

2.         What brought you to writing erotica?

I sort of started writing the more erotic romances after I had an incredible dream that inspired what turned out to be the second book in the INCOGNITO series. What do you love about it? I enjoy having the freedom to write about the spicier things in life. No sugar-coating or closed doors. Sex is a part of life and an important part of relationships. I think stories about couples that leave out the sexual attraction are missing a lot of what it means to fall in love.

3.         What are you working on now?

Short answer? A LOT! *grin*  In truth, I’m always working on either a solo project or a novel with my co-writer, Anna Leigh Keaton. With her, I’m in the middle of work on two different series (one for Cobblestone Press called Once Upon a Time and the other called Puma Nights for Harlequin’s Carina Press) so we have plenty more novels brainstormed or partially written. Midnight Deal, which is book #4 in the Once Upon a Time series, just released this month. And Falke’s Captive, book #2 in the Puma Nights series, is in final copy-editing right now. It’s expected release is this October. So, I’m always busy with brainstorming, writing, editing, or promoting. It’s a never-ending cycle, but I wouldn’t have it any other way!

4.         What is your—or your character’s—favorite erotic book? Sexy movie? Sex toy?

To first question, I read too many to name just one. As for what I’ve written, I love them all. If I didn’t, they never would’ve seen the light of day. But if I had to choose a favorite, it’d be the one co-authored with Anna Leigh Keaton called ‘Til Death Do We Part. It’s an emotional roller coaster for me every time. To the second question, I actually prefer “romantic” movies, and so the most recent one I enjoyed called the Lake House comes to mind. I liked Letters to Juliet, too. My characters tend to like classic movies, like Casablanca. And now to the 3rd question, my characters have experimented with just about everything from cages to floggers and blindfolds to vibes, so I can’t really say there’s a preferred favorite. Personally, I think it’s not the toy that makes it special so much as who is there to use it with you.

5.         What’s the one thing you’ve always wanted to do?

The top thing on your personal bucket list? I’d like to go parasailing, or I should say have the bravery to do that. Not sure it’ll ever happen though.

6.         What’s your personal romantic (or erotic) fantasy?

If you want to know that, read some of my books. LOL Like with all authors, there’s a little hint of my interests in every love story I write.

Where can we find you?
http://www.madisonlayle.com/
http://www.facebook.com/madisonlayle
http://www.cobblestone-press.com/catalog/author/madisonlayle.htm

This entry was posted in Interview and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interview with Madison Layle

  1. Jar O' Marbles says:

    I’d love the bravery to do anything involving heights lol

  2. Kate Austin says:

    It’s so great to have you with us – maybe we’ll have a round robin in the fall when the nights get more erotic! I’ve got a parachuting adventure in my future – I just have to get up the courage for it. I’ll do a tandem one, though. Otherwise, I know I wouldn’t do it.

    Josee (aka Kate)

Leave a Reply

