Book Addict

Hi, my name is Josee Renard and I’m a book addict.
Ever since I can remember, I’ve been a reader, and ever since I thought to count (maybe 40 years?), I have read somewhere between 350 and 400 books a year. I read everything – poetry, romance, erotica, non-fiction of all kinds, mysteries, science fiction, fantasy, even the occasional thriller.
I don’t have a to be read pile or even a shelf – I have an entire floor to ceiling bookshelf. Or two. Maybe two and a half. I’m an addict, remember? I need to have enough books to read in case – in Vancouver where it seldom snows – there’s a snowstorm and I’m stuck inside for a week with nothing else to do but read. My ideal vacation, actually.
I’m also an avid re-reader. I re-read all my favorite books – sometimes twice a year. I re-read all of Jane Austen every year. I re-read Dickens and Virginia Woolf and Michael Ondaatje. I re-read Bronwen Wallace and Lorna Crozier and Patrick Lane. I love Neil Gaiman with a passion.
But my favorite re-reading? Romance. I admit it – I love re-reading romances. Hot, steamy, erotic romances for preference though I have a few sweeter romances I re-read. Who do I re-read at least once a year? Here’s a list (this is not all of them, but all I can think of right now) in no particular order:
Nora Roberts (not J.D. Robb) romantic suspense
J.R. Ward – the only vampires I love
Christine Feehan – the “Game” series, not anything else
Marjorie Liu
Amanda Quick/Jayne Ann Krentz
Julie Garwood
Early Linda Howard
Leanne Karella
Linnea Sinclair
Barbara Hambly
I’ve read some books by these readers a dozen times – maybe more. When I’m tired or it’s raining or I’m too busy to focus – I re-read. When I’m cranky – I re-read. When I’m working on a complicated part of a book – I re-read.
Reading is one of my greatest joys and re-reading? Even more so.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Addict

  1. Jar O' Marbles says:

    I LOVE to re-read books. I tend to read super fast, and I always pick up on things that I missed initially. I have books that I re-read every year(The HP series, Persuasion by J. Austen, and several other series..to name a few.

Leave a Reply

