Anatomy, Vulgarity and everything inbetween.

Welcome to Saturdays at Josee’s world. Part of what I do is spend a lot of time looking things up and although I prefer to look things up in actual books, I admit I spend most of my time looking things up on the internet. Here are a few of the places I’ve found that might fascinate you.
Want to know about body parts? Here’s a great place to start: http://www.sex-lexis.com/
Want to know about what was vulgar language in 1811? Start right here with Captain Grose’s Lexicon Balatronicum at http://www.fromoldbooks.org/Grose-VulgarTongue/
Here’s what was on the original cover page:

Lexicon Balatronicum

A Dictionary of Buckish Slang, University Wit and Pickpocket Eloquence.

Compiled originally by Captain Grose.

And now considerably altered and enlarged, with The modern [1811] changes and improvements, by a member of the Whip Club.

Assisted by Hell-Fire Dick, and James Gordon, Esqrs. of Cambridge; and William Soames, Esq. of the Hon. Society of Newman’s Hotel.

London: Printed for C. Chappel, Pall-Mall;
Sold by J. Johnston, Cheapside; Goddard, Pall-Mall, and all other booksellers.

1811.

Do you want to know about movies? About actors? About careers? I love www.imdb.com the Internet Movie Database. They know everything – from every actor in a particular movie to the projects a particular actor is working on at this particular moment.
Need a site to find a particular piece of art? Download it as wallpaper? Go to Mark Harden’s Artchive – I change my wallpaper pretty regularly and I always find something fresh and wonderful at http://www.artchive.com/. He also tells you about the artist and makes connections for you. I love it.
And then there’s http://www.cosmopolitan.com/sex-love/tips/. Need I say anything more?
Josee
This entry was posted in Research and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

