#DD – Eden Baylee

I really only bake once a year—cookies to give away as gifts to friends for the holidays. As baking has never been my forté, I have narrowed down the one recipe that I’m able to follow.

It’s taken directly from the back of the Canada Cornstarch box. And folks, if I can do it— you can too!

I put my own stamp on these by using tiny cookie cutters. Basically, they are bite-sized morsels, so you can eat more of them at one sitting! My husband has about twenty at a time, and he likes them a little burnt. That’s why some are darker than others.

As a treat for Josee’s readers, I’m giving away two signed copies of my book, Fall into Winter for commenting on this post. Tell me your favorite cookie recipe, or provide a link to one, and perhaps I’ll try to expand my meager baking database for next season.  Please provide your e-mail address in the comment. A random draw will be made by December 30th, and I will contact you directly.

Enjoy and hope your holiday season is joyous and delicious!

eden

Shortbread Cookies

  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup icing sugar
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  1. Sift together cornstarch, icing sugar and flour.
  2. With a wooden spoon, blend in butter until soft, smooth dough forms.
  3. Shape into 1″ balls and place on an ungreased cookie sheet. Flatten with fork.
  4. Alternatively, roll dough to 1/4 inch thick and cut into shapes.
  5. Decorate with candied cherries, sprinkles or nuts as desired.
  6. Bake at 300°F for 15-20 minutes.
This entry was posted in #DD and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to #DD – Eden Baylee

  1. Pingback: Guest Blog at: Josee Renard |

  2. eden baylee says:

    Thanks for having me on your blog, Josee. Great to be part of Delicious December! ;)
    eden

  3. sesshabatto says:

    I have to say from firsthand experience – Eden’s cookies are DELICIOUS!! I’m not much of a baker, myself, but I do love molasses cookies ;)

    3/4 cup margarine, melted
    1 cup white sugar
    1 egg
    1/4 cup molasses
    2 cups all-purpose flour
    2 teaspoons baking soda
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
    1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
    1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
    1/2 cup white sugar

    In a medium bowl, mix together the melted margarine, 1 cup sugar, and egg until smooth. Stir in the molasses. Combine the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, cloves, and ginger; blend into the molasses mixture. Cover, and chill dough for 1 hour.
    Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Roll dough into walnut sized balls, and roll them in the remaining white sugar. Place cookies 2 inches apart onto ungreased baking sheets.
    Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, until tops are cracked. Cool on wire racks.

  4. eden baylee says:

    Ha! Thanks Sessha, I love the ingredients in your cookies. When does anyone use molasses anymore? Will definitely try this out. Thank you!
    eden

    • sesshabatto says:

      I love molasses – I make molasses oatmeal bread, too ;)

      2 packages active dry yeast
      1/2 cup warm water
      1 1/2 cups milk, scalded
      1/3 cup shortening
      2 teaspoons salt
      1/2 cup molasses
      4 1/2 to 5 cups all-purpose flour
      2 cups quick cooking rolled oats + about half a cup more
      1 egg white

      Combine yeast and warm water in a cup or small bowl; set aside. Pour scalded milk over shortening, salt, and molasses. Stir until shortening melts. Cool to lukewarm then stir in 1 cup flour, yeast mixture, and the two cups of oats. Stir in enough flour to make a soft dough.

      Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic, about 10 minutes. Round dough into a ball and place in a buttered bowl; turn over to grease both sides. Cover with a dish cloth and let rise in a warm place until nearly doubled in size, about 1 hour. Punch down; cover and let rest 10 minutes. form into two loaves. Brush the loaves with eggwhite and roll in the extra oats. Place in greased 9x5x3-inch loaf pans. Cover and let rise for about 1 hour, until nearly double in size. Bake at 375° for 35 to 40 minutes. Remove from pans immediately and cool on racks.

      • eden baylee says:

        Uh oh, Sessha, I see yeast in your recipe. The last time I tried making something with yeast I almost blew up the kitchen…it was not pretty! I’ll try this and let you know. If you don’t hear from me, call 911!
        eden

  5. Regina Ross says:

    Hi, thanks for sharing your recipe =)

    HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!
    reginamayross@gmail.com

  6. People are going to start to lick the computer monitor because those cookies look so good…

  7. Shelly says:

    These cookies look so easy and delicious. lol Savannah I’m seeing people licking their screens in my mind! :)

  8. danniehill says:

    I getting fat just looking. I love shortbread cookies!

Leave a Reply

