Interview with author Eden Baylee

1.         Tell us a little bit about yourself. How does your day go? What keeps you writing?

I’ve been writing full-time now for just over a year. My first book entitled Fall into Winter is a self-published collection of erotic novellas and was officially launched Feb 2011. Prior to writing, I was a banker for twenty years.

My day usually begins around 7 a.m. with an hour of meditation, a light breakfast of fruit, yogurt, and tea, and my computer is turned on by 8 a.m. After about an hour of responding to e-mails, social networking, and reading blogs of other authors, I set out to write.

I’m highly motivated to write as that’s what I’ve always wanted to do. Given this, it doesn’t take much to keep me writing – my computer is literally attached to my hip!

2.         What brought you to writing erotica? What do you love about it?

I’ve always enjoyed the genre of “sexy.” That was before I even knew there was a name for it. My introduction to erotica was Story of O by Pauline Réage, which I read when I was eleven. I suppose I loved the way the story made me feel—warm, seduced, and completely engaged. I think every book should do that to me. Erotica is not unlike any other genre except that it’s very character driven with graphic sexual content. I like the challenge of integrating erotic sex scenes into a story.

At the end of the day, I write to make readers feel how I’d like to feel when I read a good book — emotionally connected, deeply aroused, and fully committed.

3.         What are you working on now?

I’m writing my follow-up anthology called Spring into Summer. Like my first book, there will be four stories, only this time, they will occur in my two favorite seasons of the year. I’m a hot weather person so these stories will definitely reflect my love for the heat.

I just returned from a trip to Barbados and used that time to complete one of the novellas within the book. Heat makes some people lethargic, but it does the opposite to me. I was wildly inspired to write when I was there.

4.         What is your—or your character’s—favorite erotic book? Sexy movie? Sex toy?

I had to laugh with this question because sex toys will play a key role in my upcoming book. The research for it was…shall I say…interesting! I’m a big fan of them, and I really like the Swedish company LELO. To me, they are the premiere maker of sex toys.

I’m also a big fan of power tools, so LELO is the equivalent of DEWALT tools in terms of style, variety, and design. The products are aesthetically pleasing to the eye and feel good in my hands. Of course, let’s not forget the most important thing – they are also functional and very effective.

5.         What’s the one thing you’ve always wanted to do? The top thing on your personal bucket list?

Go to India. I was in Asia when I was younger, and traveled all over but didn’t make it to India given time constraints. It’s a place I definitely want to visit before I die.

6.     What’s your personal romantic (or erotic) fantasy?

I have many, but in general terms, it involves a man and very intense, slow lovemaking. It could go on for days or maybe even weeks, and the only thing that would interrupt our desire for each other is the need for food and sleep. The connection is the most erotic part of the fantasy; the setting is secondary, though somewhere hot and by the ocean would be my preference.

Eden writes erotica incorporating all her favorite things: travel; culture; and sex. She enjoys weaving together stories with edgy themes, and sex is but one way to do it. Her first book, Fall into Winter, a collection of four erotic novellas, is currently available via Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and other sites located on her website. 

Connect with her via her Website, on Twitter, and on Facebook.
This entry was posted in Interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Interview with author Eden Baylee

  1. Patti Larsen says:

    Nice interview, Eden! I’m like you–I love writing in summer–something about all that sunshine triggers creativity I think!

  2. Maxwell Cynn says:

    I enjoyed the interview. Fall into Winter is beautifully sexy, and very arousing. I look forward to Spring into Summer. Some erotica is just sex, but you inspire romance and deep sensuality. Keep it coming ;-)

    max

  3. joseerenard says:

    Eden, you KNOW how much I love Fall Into Winter, love the writing, love the sensuality and artistic elements of it. And I hope I’ve told you this before – but the cover is absolutely luscious. Can hardly wait for Spring into Summer.

    I’m in Vancouver and I’m pretty convinced this year we’re going to have neither – all my heat is going to have to come from you.

    Josee

    (aka Kate)

  4. Eden, fantastic interview….I’ve read your book and loved it…I will be reading it over again in the future…Hot fantasy by the way….

Leave a Reply

