Sexy movie, Sexy men..

It’s not often that you get more than one incredibly sexy man in a single movie, especially a movie that’s written for grown-ups. Oh, sure, there are plenty of movies with multiple sexy boys – mostly under 25 – but not all that many with more than one sexy man for women older than 15.
I’m a movie addict and a connoisseur of sexy men – put the two together and I’m as happy as can be.
The good news is that there are a few movies which manage to put together two or three or sometimes more very sexy men in a single movie. Most of these movies, I regret to say, are English movies I’ve thrown in one American movie and an Australian one for good measure. I wonder whether that’s because the English and the Australians are less youth-obsessed than Hollywood is?
So here’s my list, in no particular order.
The Lord of the Rings trilogy. This is, for all kinds of reasons, one of the sexiest movies ever – at the top of the reasons for its sexiness are Sean Bean, Viggo Mortenson, Ian McKellen, Hugo Weaving, John Rhys-Davies (though maybe not as a dwarf), and I’d even add Christopher Lee.
Of course, the beautiful costumes and setting, the saving of the world, the music, the relationship between Arwen and Aragorn also help.
The English Patient. Lovely, sensuous, exquisitely crafted and filmed movie. I don’t know if you’d call Ralph Fiennes or Colin Firth always sexy, but in this movie I think both of them are sexy, fascinating, complex characters. And then I’ll just say Naveen Andrews washing his hair and leave it at that.
The Big Chill. Jeff Goldblum. William Hurt. Kevin Kline. The end.
Sense and Sensibility. One of the sexiest men on the planet – at least for me – is Alan Rickman. Add in Hugh Grant and you’re in heaven. They’re not just gorgeous, they’re nice.
Take these same two men in Love Actually and add back in Colin Firth. A few more in Bill Nighy, Liam Neeson, Rodrigo Santoro and one of the best soundtracks ever. It’s a movie I watch over and over, not just for the men, though I have to admit I can’t resist them, but because I love the way the stories all work together.
If you haven’t seen these movies, get thee to wherever you get your movies and watch them. If you have other movies that meet this criteria – sexy grown-up men in grown-up movies, let us know.
Josee
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sexy movie, Sexy men..

  1. Jar O' Marbles says:

    I love, love, love … Love Actually, lol. And Sense and Sensibility. Colin Firth is one of my all time favorite actors. So is Alan Rickman for that matter.

  2. Lisa DiDio says:

    Love Actually is one of my annual winter watches, and Lord of the Rings? Doesn’t get much better.

    I’d add in the Oceans series – George Clooney, Andy Garcia, Brad Pitt, Matt Damon (younger I know, but still), Kenneth Brannagh’s Much Ado About Nothing (Ken, Denzel Washington, Keanu Reeves and Robert Sean Leonard who is just sweet and cute enough to break your heart) and the reboot of Midsummer’s Night Dream (Christian Bale, David Strathearn, Rupert Everett, Stanley Tucci and Kevin Kline). And don’t forget Coppola’s Dracula – Gary Oldman, Keanu Reeves, and all three guys who played Lucy’s sweethearts…

  3. Hmmm, I’m not a fan of the Oceans series – but I am a fan of those guys. And Lisa, absolutely 100% Much Ado About Nothing – I love Branagh, all of his movies. If you haven’t seen Dead Again, rent it, it’s fabulous. And Stanley Tucci? At the top of my list. See we could just go on forever.

    Josee

Leave a Reply

